Jane Chambers Playwriting Award

Jane ChambersTHE JANE CHAMBERS AWARD recognizes new plays and performance texts created by women writers which present a feminist perspective and that provide significant opportunities for female performers. This annual award, founded in 1984, welcomes experimentations in form and in subject matter. It is given in memory of lesbian playwright Jane Chambers,  a major feminist voice in American theater.

Sponsored by the Women and Theatre Program with the Association for Theater in Higher Education, the contest understands feminism to cross an array of class, sex, race, national, ethnic, theatrical, and/or geographic perspectives. The Jane Chambers Contest winner receives $1000 & a rehearsed reading at ATHE’s annual summer conference, where she is recognized at ATHE's Awards Ceremony.

The 2017 Winners and Nominees were:

Runner Up:
Honorable Mentions:
A SMALL OAK TREE RUNS RED by Lekethia Dalcoe
PARADISE by Laura Maria Censabella
THE O’MALLEY GAMBIT by Kate Monaghan
POLICARPA by Diana Burbano

Previous Years Winners can be found here.

The 2018 winners will be announced at the ATHE conference in Boston in August.